Juan Mata has been crowned Chelsea Player of the Year for the second successive season.

It was a night to remember for the Spaniard as he also picked up the Players' Player of the Year award.

The club's annual ceremony, which took place in the Great Hall at Stamford Bridge, was hosted by Ed Chamberlain and Vicky Gomersall from Sky Sports, with five separate prizes handed out.

The main award was voted for by supporters on this website, with Frank Lampard, David Luiz and Eden Hazard making up the final four nominations.

Mata became only the fourth player to retain the trophy, adding his name to a list containing John Hollins, Ray Wilkins and Frank Lampard, and the 25-year-old was understandably delighted. 

'I feel so happy,' he said. 'It's my second season here and winning the trophy two years in a row is amazing for me. I just want to say thank you to all the supporters and all my team-mates.'

He went on to pay tribute to our supporters for their backing in last night's Europa League final win over Benfica in Amsterdam.

'Every final, like last season in the Champions League, we felt all the people from Chelsea with us,' he explained. 'We did it for them, we scored in the last minute, the best time to score, and we were really happy for them because they've been behind us all season.'

Mata was presented with the Player of the Year award by club captain John Terry, who felt the playmaker was a worthy winner.

'He's been phenomenal,' said Terry. 'It's not just his goalscoring, it's his assists as well. He's fantastic, he brings so much to the team. He's a magician, he has a great first touch and fantastic vision.'

Earlier in the night, Lampard was presented with a Special Recognition award for the service he has given the club since signing for the Blues in 2001.

The midfielder, who has just signed a one-year contract extension, was presented with the award by Bobby Tambling, the man whose goalscoring record he surpassed last weekend to become our all-time highest scorer.


As Lampard collected his award on stage, he reflected on the brace at Aston Villa which secured his place in the history books.

'Getting the equalising goal on the day and drawing level with the great man himself was a big deal for me,' he said. 'It was such a huge game for us, and I kind of felt it would be the day after scoring the first one.

'I can't really explain it. I thought it would be good when I done it, but I didn't realise quite how good it would feel. To have the fans at Aston Villa and my team-mates celebrating with me at the end was quite emotional for me, so thanks to all the lads.'


Shortly before, Lampard had presented Nathan Ake with the Young Player of the Year award.

It's been a season of progression for the young Dutchman, who is equally comfortable playing in the centre of defence or in a deep midfield role.

He made his debut for the first team as a late substitute in the Boxing Day win away at Norwich City, before playing the full 90 minutes in February's FA Cup victory at Middlesbrough.

Ake, who has also featured for both the Under-21s and Under-18s over the course of the season, was then given his first taste of European action when he started our away game against Rubin Kazan in the Europa League.

The 18-year-old was an unused substitute in last night's Europa League final win against Benfica, but was simply delighted to be involved.

'It was really special,' said the youngster. 'When you're 18 and involved in the squad, the Europa League is really big, so it was a great experience for me.'


The first prize of the night was won by Oscar, who picked up the Goal of the Season award for his second goal in the 2-2 Champions League draw against Juventus back in September.

Supporters were given the opportunity to register their vote on this website from a selection of 11 brilliant goals.

The Brazilian, making his first full start for the club, had opened the scoring moments earlier, and doubled our advantage with a sublime strike.

After taking an Ashley Cole pass in his stride, he eased away from two defenders with a deft touch, before bending a wonderful strike beyond the despairing dive of Gianluigi Buffon into the top corner of the net.

You can see a video of the players receiving their awards on the Chelsea TV section of this website.

Chelsea TV will broadcast a highlights show from the event tomorrow at 7.30pm.


1967 Peter Bonetti
1968 Charlie Cooke
1969 David Webb
1970 John Hollins
1971 John Hollins
1972 David Webb
1973 Peter Osgood
1974 Gary Locke
1975 Charlie Cooke
1976 Ray Wilkins
1977 Ray Wilkins
1978 Micky Droy
1979 Tommy Langley
1980 Clive Walker
1981 Petar Borota
1982 Mike Fillery
1983 Joey Jones
1984 Pat Nevin
1985 David Speedie
1986 Eddie Niedzwiecki
1987 Pat Nevin
1988 Tony Dorigo
1989 Graham Roberts
1990 Ken Monkou
1991 Andy Townsend
1992 Paul Elliott
1993 Frank Sinclair
1994 Steve Clarke
1995 Erland Johnsen
1996 Ruud Gullit
1997 Mark Hughes
1998 Dennis Wise
1999 Gianfranco Zola
2000 Dennis Wise
2001 John Terry
2002 Carlo Cudicini
2003 Gianfranco Zola
2004 Frank Lampard
2005 Frank Lampard
2006 John Terry
2007 Michael Essien
2008 Joe Cole
2009 Frank Lampard
2010 Didier Drogba
2011 Petr Cech
2012 Juan Mata
2013 Juan Mata


1983 Keith Dublin
1984 Robert Isaac
1985 Gareth Hall
1986 Micky Bodley
1987 Jason Cundy
1988 Eddie Cunnington
1989 No award
1990 No award
1991 Andy Myers
1992 Zeke Rowe
1993 Neil Shipperley
1994 Mark Nicholls
1995 Chris McCann
1996 Jody Morris
1997 Nick Crittenden
1998 John Terry
1999 Sam Dalla Bona
2000 Rhys Evans
2001 Leon Knight
2002 Carlton Cole
2003 Robert Huth
2004 Robert Huth
2005 Robert Huth
2006 Lassana Diarra
2007 John Mikel Obi
2008 The U18s youth team
2009 Michael Mancienne
2010 The U18s youth team
2011 Josh McEachran
2012 Lucas Piazon
2013 Nathan Ake


2006 Claude Makelele
2007 Didier Drogba
2008 Ricardo Carvalho
2009 Ashley Cole
2010 Florent Malouda
2011 Ashley Cole
2012 Ramires
2013 Juan Mata


2007 Michael Essien v Arsenal (home)
2008 Juliano Belletti v Tottenham (home)
2009 Michael Essien v Barcelona (home)
2010 Ashley Cole v Sunderland (home)
2011 Ramires v Manchester City (home)
2012 Ramires v Barcelona (away)
2013 Oscar v Juventus (home)