Delta Air Lines is the Official Airline partner of Chelsea Football Club. The two international organisations first partnered together in 2012 and since then have worked together to bring the airline's 180 million annual passengers closer to the club.

Delta is synonymous with sport in the United States where the airline is the official sponsor of 16 leading US sports teams including baseball's New York Yankees, hockey's Los Angeles Kings, American football's Minnesota Vikings as well as Super Bowl winners Seattle Seahawks. In the summer of 2016, Delta welcome the Chelsea team as they tour the United States, playing matches in Los Angeles, Michigan and Minneapolis.

Chelsea players have joined Delta customers and employees in numerous events around the world, showcasing Delta's products and services and shared global scope.

When the deal was extended in 2015, Chelsea managing director Christian Purslow said: ‘We are delighted to be entering into a new phase of our partnership with Delta Air Lines, the world’s biggest airline. Rated by Fortune magazine as one of the world’s most admired companies, Delta Air Lines has the profile, reach and reputation which fit perfectly with our strategy of partnering with a small group of world-class companies.

‘Over the next three years we look forward to Delta continuing to help us tell Chelsea’s story all over the world, particularly in their home market in America, where they are such an established and recognised presence.’

Delta offers service to 330 destinations in 61 countries on six continents. Headquartered in Atlanta, Delta employs nearly 80,000 employees worldwide and operates a mainline fleet of more than 800 aircraft.

The airline is a founding member of the SkyTeam global alliance and participates in the industry’s leading transatlantic joint venture with Air France-KLM and Alitalia as well as a joint venture with Virgin Atlantic. Including its worldwide alliance partners, Delta offers customers more than 15,000 daily flights, with key hubs and markets including Amsterdam, Atlanta, Boston, Detroit, Los Angeles, Minneapolis/St. Paul, New York-JFK and LaGuardia, London-Heathrow, Paris-Charles de Gaulle, Salt Lake City, Seattle and Tokyo-Narita.