Posted on: Thu 02 Sep 2010

In accordance with new Premier League rules for this season, a squad list has today been submitted.

The squad can be up to 25 players and if the full 25 are named, eight must be classed as 'home-grown'. A reduced squad can be submitted if a club does not have eight falling into that category.

A home-grown player is one who, irrespective of his nationality or age, has been registered with any club affiliated to the Football Association or the Welsh Football Association for a period, continuous or not, of three entire seasons or 36 months prior to his 21st birthday (or the end of the season during which he turns 21).

In addition to the 25-man named squad, clubs can use an unlimited number of players aged 21 or under. An Under 21 player is defined as one who has been born on or after 1 January 1989.

These rules cover league games only.

Chelsea's submitted squad is

1. Petr Cech
2. Branislav Ivanovic
3. Ashley Cole
5. Michael Essien
7. Ramires
8. Frank Lampard
10. Yossi Benayoun
11. Didier Drogba 
12. John Mikel Obi
15. Florent Malouda
17. Jose Bosingwa
18. Yury Zhirkov
19. Paulo Ferreira
21. Salomon Kalou
22. Ross Turnbull
26. John Terry
33. Alex
39. Nicolas Anelka
40. Henrique Hilario

Our Under 21 players who currently have a squad number are:

23. Daniel Sturridge
38. Patrick van Aanholt
43. Jeffrey Bruma
44. Gael Kakuta
45. Fabio Borini
46. Josh McEachran

Only in exceptional circumstances can the squad be changed before the January transfer window, apart from the addition of players not under contract to another club.