Posted on: Tue 30 Oct 2012

Roberto Di Matteo has been shortlisted for FIFA's World Coach of the Year 2012 award, while former Chelsea man Didier Drogba is nominated in the players' category.

It follows our success in last season's Champions League, in which Drogba scored our equalising goal and netted the winning penalty in the shootout, an unlikely achievement before Di Matteo took the reins, when we faced elimination from the competition in the early knockout rounds.

After lifting the European Cup in May, we have carried that form into this season and sit a point clear at the top of the Barclays Premier League.

Former manager Jose Mourinho, now with Real Madrid, is also listed in the coaching category.

The full lists of nominees can be seen below, and the winners will be announced on January 7, with votes taken from the coaches and captains of national teams and international media representatives.

The following 23 men (in alphabetical order) are in contention for the FIFA Ballon d'Or 2012:

Sergio Aguero (Argentina), Xabi Alonso (Spain),Mario Balotelli (Italy), Karim Benzema (France), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Sergio Busquets (Spain), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Radamel Falcao (Colombia), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Gerard Pique (Spain), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Sergio Ramos (Spain), Wayne Rooney (England), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast), Robin van Persie (Netherlands), Xavi (Spain).

The following ten coaches (in alphabetical order, first nationality and then team) are in contention for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men's Football 2012:

Vicente del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Roberto Di Matteo (Italy/Chelsea), Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United), Pep Guardiola (Spain/ Barcelona), Jupp Heynckes (Germany/ Bayern Munich), Jurgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Joachim Low (Germany/Germany national team), Roberto Mancini (Italy/Manchester City), Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid CF), Cesare Prandelli (Italy/Italy national team).