Ladies spring fixtures announced

The FA Women’s Super League have announced the fixtures for the forthcoming Spring Series, with Chelsea Ladies kicking off our campaign with a trip to Manchester City on Sunday 23 April.

The Blues begin the one-off format league, where each of the 10 top-flight clubs will play each other once, against the reigning WSL champions before contesting the first of four home games at Wheatsheaf Park in Staines the following week.

The Man City encounter will be the first chance for Chelsea fans to see some of our latest signings in action. US superstar Crystal Dunn, Norway captain Maren Mjelde and Swiss and Scotland internationals Ramona Bachmann and Erin Cuthbert could all make their debuts.

Emma Hayes’s side will take on newly-promoted Yeovil Town on Sunday 30 April and, following an away day at Reading, host Notts County on Sunday 7 May in a rematch of Chelsea’s victorious 2015 Women’s FA Cup final.

After finishing runners-up in both major domestic competitions last season, the Blues will be aiming to go one better on both fronts in 2017, when the WSL shifts to a winter calendar later in the year. Prior to the special Spring Series, we will enter the FA Cup at the fifth-round stage with the tie scheduled for Sunday 19 March.

Chelsea welcome London rivals Arsenal to Staines when the Spring Series resumes on Thursday 17 May, four days after the Women’s FA Cup final date for those teams who make it that far. It will then be a quick turnaround for a visit to Sunderland Ladies before our final home fixture of the series against Liverpool on Sunday 28 May.

Hayes’s side finish the spring campaign with two matches in four days as we travel to Bristol City and Birmingham City, allowing time for our international contingent to prepare for the Women’s EURO 2017 tournament in the Netherlands later in June.

Details of Chelsea Ladies season tickets will be announced soon


Chelsea Ladies fixtures - spring 2017

Date Time Competition Opposition Where Live TV F-A
Mon 6 Feb 2pm Pre-season Hyundai Steel Red Angels Carshalton (behind closed doors) - W 2-0
Sun 12 Feb 11am Pre-season Rosengard Carshalton Athletic FC - D 2-2
Fri 17 Feb 4pm Pre-season Fortuna Hjorring Portugal (behind closed doors) - W 2-0
Mon 20 Feb 2pm Pre-season LSK Kvinner Staines (behind closed doors) - W 3-0
Thu 23 Feb 4pm Pre-season Manchester City Women Academy Stadium Manchester (behind closed doors) - cancelled
Sun 12 Mar 2pm Pre-season Kristianstads Staines - W 1-0
Sun 19 Mar 2pm Women's FA Cup 5th round Doncaster Rovers Belles home - W 7-0
Sun 26 Mar 2pm Women's FA Cup 6th round Sunderland Ladies home - W 5-1
Mon 17 Apr 2.05pm Women's FA Cup semi-final Birmingham City Ladies away Chelsea TV L 1-1 (2-4 on pens)
Sun 30 Apr 2pm WSL Yeovil Town Ladies home - W 6-0
Wed 3 May 7.35pm WSL Reading Women away Chelsea TV W 4-0
Wed 17 May 7.35pm WSL Arsenal Ladies home Chelsea TV D 2-2
Sun 21 May 2pm WSL Sunderland Ladies away - W 7-0
Thu 25 May 7pm WSL Manchester City Women away BT Sport L 0-1
Sun 28 May 12.05pm WSL Liverpool Ladies home Chelsea TV W 7-0
Wed 31 May 7.05pm WSL Bristol City Ladies away Chelsea TV W 4-0
Sat 3 June 3.30pm WSL Birmingham City Ladies away BT Sport W 2-0