This page has been archived and is no longer updated - some links and page components may not work correctly.

Hazard at the double

Eden Hazard has been named the Chelsea Player of the Year and the Players’ Player of the Year.

On a night of celebration, other winners included Kurt Zouma, who was named Young Player of the Year, Oscar, who won the Goal of the Year award for his strike against QPR, and Dominic Solanke, who picked up the Academy Player of the Year prize. Eniola Aluko was named Chelsea Ladies Player of the Year. 

The sense of occasion was added to when Lord Attenborough was posthumously honoured with a Special Recognition award. Gianfranco Zola and Dennis Wise, two men who enjoyed a very close relationship with our Life President who died last year, presented a special shirt to his son Michael on behalf of the club.

Hazard adds his two club awards tonight to the three prestigious individual accolades he has already picked up this season: the PFA Player of the Year, the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year and the Barclays Premier League Player of the Year.

It is the second season in a row he has won the main award at the traditional end-of-season do, which this year was held at Battersea Evolution, not far from Stamford Bridge. Clare Balding hosted the evening.

The main award was voted for by supporters on this website, with Hazard, Diego Costa, Cesc Fabregas, Nemanja Matic and John Terry making up the final five nominations.

Having received so much recognition already this season, Hazard was proud to cap off his season with the support of both the Chelsea fans and his peers, who joined him on stage at the end.

‘The season was fantastic, not only for me but for the team,' he pointed out. 'We won two trophies and I got a lot of individual awards. I want to share these trophies with everybody, the fans and the players. 

‘I just want to say thank you to my teammates because they work for me. I think it’s a good choice! 

‘We respect each other. We are good friends. Everybody likes each other and that’s why we won the league. We motivate each other and I hope next season we can win a lot of trophies.'

Zouma meanwhile was named Young Player of the Year after a memorable first season in west London.

Didier Drogba handed over that prize and recalled the moment he first jumped to try and win a header against Zouma, knowing instantly, having come off second best, that the French defender was good enough for Chelsea. 

Zouma added: ‘I want to say thank you to the fans, thank you for everything. You were there all season. I hope we will win more titles next season.’

Oscar picked up the first prize of the evening, handed over by former Blues Carlo Cudicini and Tore Andre Flo, for his glorious outside-of-the-boot effort against our west London rivals back in November.

He also won the award, voted for by fans on, back in 2013, and our no.8 said on receiving it for a second time: 'It was a beautiful goal and a beautiful assist from Cesc. I am so happy to win this award and my first title at the club.’

The inaugural Academy Player of the Year award went to Dominic Solanke, who has scored 41 goals at youth level this season and also made his first-team debut, against Maribor. He netted in each and every round of our victorious FA Youth Cup and UEFA Youth League campaigns and received his trophy from Chelsea legend Eddie Newton

'It’s been an amazing achievement throughout the whole season,' Solanke noted.

'I like to work hard and do what I can for the team, and obviously the position I play I try to score as many goals as I can. I have to keep working hard and see how far I can go.’

Eniola Aluko won the Chelsea Ladies Player of the Year award, with her manager Emma Hayes collecting the prize in her absence because the striker is in Canada preparing for the forthcoming World Cup with England. Aluko, who has helped Chelsea Ladies to the top of the Women’s Super League and the final of the FA Women’s Cup, delivered a video message and couldn't hide her delight at the result.

‘I’m sorry I can’t be there,’ Aluko said. ‘Thank you so much for this incredible award. I wouldn’t be able to do it without the amazing staff we’ve got. I hope we can go on and win titles this year. I feel proud to be blue.’

There were also fond farewells to main club sponsor Samsung, after 10 successful years together, and charity partner Right to Play, whose eight-year association with Chelsea comes to an end.

Jose Mourinho, the mastermind behind our success this season, provided one of the highlights of the night, telling a fictional tale about three different teams that tried to get FIFA to change the rules of the game to suit their respective styles of play. It was not hard to work out who he was referring to on each occasion, but he ended by stressing that our opposition will be stronger next season and we must rise to the challenge.

The evening though was all about celebrating another fantastic season for the Blues, something the manager highlighted when he invited each and every player on stage before giving a certain brilliant Belgian winger the main award. 

1967 Peter Bonetti
1968 Charlie Cooke
1969 David Webb
1970 John Hollins
1971 John Hollins
1972 David Webb
1973 Peter Osgood
1974 Gary Locke
1975 Charlie Cooke
1976 Ray Wilkins
1977 Ray Wilkins
1978 Micky Droy
1979 Tommy Langley
1980 Clive Walker
1981 Petar Borota
1982 Mike Fillery
1983 Joey Jones
1984 Pat Nevin
1985 David Speedie
1986 Eddie Niedzwiecki
1987 Pat Nevin
1988 Tony Dorigo
1989 Graham Roberts
1990 Ken Monkou
1991 Andy Townsend
1992 Paul Elliott
1993 Frank Sinclair
1994 Steve Clarke
1995 Erland Johnsen
1996 Ruud Gullit
1997 Mark Hughes
1998 Dennis Wise
1999 Gianfranco Zola
2000 Dennis Wise
2001 John Terry
2002 Carlo Cudicini
2003 Gianfranco Zola
2004 Frank Lampard
2005 Frank Lampard
2006 John Terry
2007 Michael Essien
2008 Joe Cole
2009 Frank Lampard
2010 Didier Drogba
2011 Petr Cech
2012 Juan Mata
2013 Juan Mata
2014 Eden Hazard
2015 Eden Hazard

1983 Keith Dublin
1984 Robert Isaac
1985 Gareth Hall
1986 Micky Bodley
1987 Jason Cundy
1988 Eddie Cunnington
1989 No award
1990 No award
1991 Andy Myers
1992 Zeke Rowe
1993 Neil Shipperley
1994 Mark Nicholls
1995 Chris McCann
1996 Jody Morris
1997 Nick Crittenden
1998 John Terry
1999 Sam Dalla Bona
2000 Rhys Evans
2001 Leon Knight
2002 Carlton Cole
2003 Robert Huth
2004 Robert Huth
2005 Robert Huth
2006 Lassana Diarra
2007 John Mikel Obi
2008 The U18s youth team
2009 Michael Mancienne
2010 The U18s youth team
2011 Josh McEachran
2012 Lucas Piazon
2013 Nathan Ake
2014 Lewis Baker
2015 Kurt Zouma

2006 Claude Makelele
2007 Didier Drogba
2008 Ricardo Carvalho
2009 Ashley Cole
2010 Florent Malouda
2011 Ashley Cole
2012 Ramires
2013 Juan Mata
2014 Cesar Azpilicueta
2015 Eden Hazard

2007 Michael Essien v Arsenal (home)
2008 Juliano Belletti v Tottenham (home)
2009 Michael Essien v Barcelona (home)
2010 Ashley Cole v Sunderland (home)
2011 Ramires v Manchester City (home)
2012 Ramires v Barcelona (away)
2013 Oscar v Juventus (home)
2014 Lewis Baker v Arsenal Under-21s (away)
2015 Oscar v QPR (home)