This page has been archived and is no longer updated - some links and page components may not work correctly.

Hazard named Chelsea Player of the Year

The finale to Chelsea’s championship season took place at Battersea Evolution in London on Sunday night, with the club’s annual awards handed out at a glittering event attended by the players and hosted by television and radio presenter Jeremy Vine and comedian Omid Djalili, both avid Chelsea fans.

Here are the award details:

Yokohama Chelsea Player of the Year

Eden Hazard became only the second person in the award’s 50-year history to collect it for a third time. The brilliant Belgian, who played such a big part in helping to recapture the Premier League crown this season, not least with his 16 goals scored, was voted no.1 by Chelsea supporters via this website, as he was the previous time we won the league two seasons ago. His first Chelsea Player of the Year award was for 2013/14 meaning he has collected the trophy in three of the past four years.  The other triple winner is Frank Lampard (2004, 2005, 2009).

Hazard’s appreciative manager, Antonio Conte, was the man chosen to announce this year’s award winner with the Yokohama Player of the Year trophy presented by president of Yokohama Europe, Mr. Hashimoto.

Chelsea Players’ Player of the Year

N’Golo Kante was the choice of his team-mates for 2016/17, mirroring his winning of the nationwide PFA Players’ Player of the Year Award last month. Those two added to the Football Writers’ Footballer of the Year and Premier League Player of the Year gives a remarkable haul of individual honours for the French midfielder who has excelled as a team player too, winning back-to-back Premier Leagues with Leicester and Chelsea.

This was the one trophy not handed over on the night. That had already happened when David Luiz and Kurt Zouma, in possession of a microphone, had stormed the dressing room at Cobham but Kante was still able to thank his colleagues in Battersea.

‘Because we spend so long together, and we win together and we lose together, to be named by the other players is something special,’ he said. ‘I spent a very good season here.

‘We were unlucky we did not win yesterday but it was a good season and hopefully next season we are going to be stronger.’

Chelsea Goal of the Season

This award was decided by the votes from supporters collected via this website and the honour goes to Eden Hazard for the second season running.

Once again his poll-topping goal was scored in a home London derby, this time against Arsenal rather than Tottenham. Our Belgian star memorably netted the team’s second goal at the end of a magnificent solo run in February’s 3-1 Premier League win.

The award was presented on stage to the smiling Hazard by Michael Ballack, a league and cup winner during his four seasons at Chelsea between 2006 and 2010.

‘Normally after the game I do not watch my goals back but when it is a goal like this, for one week I watched it every day,’ Hazard admitted. 

Chelsea Ladies Player of the Year

Chelsea Ladies manager Emma Hayes MBE took to the stage to announce that the winner of the Ladies’ award for 2017 was another who, like her, was honoured with an MBE in the past 12 months, Karen Carney.

She had come fresh from a 7-0 win over Liverpool Ladies earlier in the afternoon, a game in which she scored her third goal of the season and a result that leaves Chelsea Ladies two wins away from regaining their league crown. The ongoing WSL Spring Series is the second campaign with Chelsea for the midfielder who has played over 100 times for England. 

'The team is doing really well,' she said. 'We have had a lot of new additions and we are trying to gel and it takes time but we have two more games left of the Spring Series. Then a lot of us are going away to play for our countries in the European Championships, we are going to give it our best shot and represent Chelsea at that tournament.'

adidas Chelsea Academy Player of the Year

The outstanding youngster chosen was Mason Mount, the captain of our Under-18s side which so impressively retained the FA Youth Cup for a fourth successive year. The 18-year-old also contributed to the Under-18s’ league championship and was a regular for our development squad side. In their competition, the PL2, Mount is one of the nominees for Player of the Season.

He collected his adidas Academy Player of the Year award tonight from his Under-18s manager Jody Morris, who has trodden the same path as a young midfielder at the club. 


Click to view the names of the winners of the Chelsea awards down the years


- As well as honouring our star performers, the evening raised money for the Chelsea Foundation and Plan International.