Alonso earns PFA recognition

Chelsea wing-back Marcos Alonso has been named in the 2017/18 PFA Premier League Team of the Year, which was announced earlier today.

The 27-year-old has enjoyed an impressive second season at Stamford Bridge, with the consistent level of his performances earning Alonso a maiden call-up to the Spain squad, for whom he made his debut last month against Argentina.

Alonso has been a regular in Antonio Conte’s side since the start of the campaign, making a total of 43 appearances to date.

The Spaniard has continued to prove his worth in front of goal by scoring seven times this season, including a match-winning brace away at Tottenham in August.

Alonso’s ability to provide a threat from dead-ball situations has also been in evidence once again over the course of the campaign, with three of his seven goals coming direct from free-kicks.

Team in full:

David De Gea
Kyle Walker
Jan Vertonghen
Nicolas Otamendi
Marcos Alonso
David Silva
Kevin De Bruyne
Christian Eriksen
Harry Kane
Mohamed Salah
Sergio Aguero