Introducing the 2018/19 Academy Scholars

There are 14 new scholars arriving at the Chelsea Academy this week as preparations for the new campaign begin in earnest.

Andy Myers takes charge of our Under-18s this term after 10 years working as an Academy coach, leading the Under-15 age group before moving up to assist with the Under-21 and Under-19s.

All players in their Under-17 year are required to start the season on a scholarship arrangement, before they are permitted to sign a first professional football contract on or after their 17th birthday. The intake includes a few familiar faces including Tino Anjorin, who scored in last term’s victorious FA Youth Cup final, and Marcel Lewis, who made six appearances for our youngsters in 2017/18.

The registrations of Ian Maatsen, Sam McClelland and Pierre Ekwah are subject to FIFA international clearance.

Assistant head of youth development Jim Fraser provides the lowdown to the official Chelsea website on the new scholars.

Meanwhile, a number of other youngsters have signed new professional contracts at the club. Daishawn Redan, Billy Gilmour, Nicolas Tie and Karlo Ziger have committed themselves until the end of 2020/21, while Clinton Mola’s new deal runs until the summer of 2020. Renedi Masampu has agreed to renew his short-term deal.