Euro 2020 qualifiers - Setting the scene

Next summer’s European Championships are being hosted across the continent for the first time, and with the Nations League also having an impact on qualifying there is plenty to explain when it comes to Euro 2020.

When does qualifying begin?

The first qualification matches take place on Thursday evening, with every nation playing at least one in this international break, and most two.

What is the qualification process?

All 55 UEFA nations must compete in the qualifiers, which conclude in November. There are 10 groups containing either five or six teams, with everyone playing each other home and away. The top two teams from each group qualify automatically for Euro 2020, with the remaining four places decided by play-off matches.

Where does the Nations League fit in?

Unlike previous editions, the participants of the play-offs will not be determined based on results in qualifying. Instead, a team from each of the four leagues in the Nations League will be allocated a place at Euro 2020.

The four group winners from each league - A, B, C and D - will play off in March 2020 in a bid to secure one of the four remaining places. The format will be one-off play-off semi-finals, followed by a final, per league, with the winning team from each of leagues A, B, C and D taking the last four spots at the Euros.

If a country has already qualified by the conventional route, their place will go to the next highest-ranked team from their respective Nations League tier.

For example, in League D the four teams who won their group were Georgia, Macedonia, Kosovo and Belarus. Should any of those teams qualify automatically for the Euros, then their spot in the play-offs would go to the next highest-ranked team, in this instance Luxembourg, and so on.

In all, 16 teams will contest the play-offs, which will consist of single-leg semi-finals and finals. The two highest-ranked teams will be at home in the semis, with a draw to decide who hosts each of the four finals.

Read: UEFA Nations League - how it stands

Who is hosting Euro 2020?

12 cities in 12 different countries! To celebrate the 60th anniversary of the first European Championships, UEFA decided to have multiple hosts for Euro 2020. They are:

Amsterdam, Netherlands
Baku, Azerbaijan
Bilbao, Spain
Budapest, Hungary
Bucharest, Romania
Copenhagen, Denmark
Dublin, Ireland
Glasgow, Scotland
London, England
Munich, Germany
Rome, Italy
St Petersburg, Russia

Each city will host three group stage stages matches as well as a round of 16 tie or a quarter-final. Wembley will be the venue for both semi-finals and the final.

The tournament is scheduled to take place from 12 June 2020 to 12 July 2020.

More from chelsea