Chelsea trio make Women’s Team of the Year

Three Chelsea Women are in the PFA Women’s Super League Team of the Year which has been announced this morning.

Our midfielder Ji So-Yun and striker Erin Cuthbert had already been listed as nominees for the PFA’s Women’s Player of the Year Award, and both those two have made the team of 11 for 2018/19 chosen by their fellow players at the WSL clubs. In addition, Chelsea full-back Hannah Blundell (pictured above being congratulated by Ji) is in the Team of the Year.

The other players largely come from the two teams above us in the table, Arsenal and Manchester City, but there are also representatives from Bristol City and Birmingham City.

The full team is:

Sophie Baggaley - Bristol City
Hannah Blundell - Chelsea
Aoife Mannion - Birmingham City
Steph Houghton - Manchester City
Demi Stokes - Manchester City
Ji So-Yun - Chelsea
Kim Little - Arsenal
Lia Walti - Arsenal
Erin Cuthbert – Chelsea
Nikita Parris - Manchester City
Vivianne Miedema – Arsenal


The 2019 PFA Awards ceremony, when Ji and Cuthbert will find out if either of them has won the individual award, and Eden Hazard the men’s equivalent, will be held at the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday evening.

Fran Kirby is the current holder of the Women’s Player of the Year Award.

Prior to the awards ceremony on Sunday, Chelsea Women have our massive Champions League semi-final second leg against Lyon at Kingsmeadow. The Blues trail by a single goal to European champions having lost 2-1 away in France last weekend. Cuthbert scored the Chelsea goal.

The second leg has sold out but there will be live coverage on Chelsea TV and the club’s official app, The 5th Stand where the action can be watched for free. Click to download

The coverage of the game will begin at 1.45pm.

More from chelsea