Chelsea Player of the Year 2019: Eden Hazard

Eden Hazard has won the Chelsea Player of the Year award for a record fourth time.

The Belgian received the accolade, which is voted for by Blues fans, in a ceremony at The Royal Lancaster hotel in central London tonight. It followed on from the Players’ Player of the Year and Goal of the Season prizes he won earlier in the evening.

‘My relationship with the fans has been really good since I came here,'  Hazard said. 'It’s always a pleasure to play at Stamford Bridge in front of the fans. That’s why I am on the pitch.

'When we play for such a great club like Chelsea at the end of the season you want to win something. Now we have that opportunity. We will go to Baku all together with the fans and we will be back with the trophy.'

Even by his high standards it has been a season to remember for Hazard. No Chelsea player has more goals (19) or assists (16) than him, and he also leads the way for successful dribbles, chances created and touches in the opposition box. Across the whole of the Premier League he has been involved in more goals (16 goals, 15 assists) than anyone.

A joy to watch with his dazzling skill and turn of pace, no player brings the supporters to their feet as often as Hazard. The 28-year-old has mostly been deployed on the left side of our attack this season but has also, on occasion, led the line.

In getting the award Hazard makes Chelsea history by becoming the first player to win it four times, having also done so in 2014, 2015 and 2017. He had been tied with Frank Lampard who won it on three occasions.


1967 Peter Bonetti
1968 Charlie Cooke
1969 David Webb
1970 John Hollins
1971 John Hollins
1972 David Webb
1973 Peter Osgood
1974 Gary Locke
1975 Charlie Cooke
1976 Ray Wilkins
1977 Ray Wilkins
1978 Micky Droy
1979 Tommy Langley
1980 Clive Walker
1981 Petar Borota
1982 Mike Fillery
1983 Joey Jones
1984 Pat Nevin
1985 David Speedie
1986 Eddie Niedzwiecki
1987 Pat Nevin
1988 Tony Dorigo
1989 Graham Roberts
1990 Ken Monkou
1991 Andy Townsend
1992 Paul Elliott
1993 Frank Sinclair
1994 Steve Clarke
1995 Erland Johnsen
1996 Ruud Gullit
1997 Mark Hughes
1998 Dennis Wise
1999 Gianfranco Zola
2000 Dennis Wise
2001 John Terry
2002 Carlo Cudicini
2003 Gianfranco Zola
2004 Frank Lampard
2005 Frank Lampard
2006 John Terry
2007 Michael Essien
2008 Joe Cole
2009 Frank Lampard
2010 Didier Drogba
2011 Petr Cech
2012 Juan Mata
2013 Juan Mata
2014 Eden Hazard
2015 Eden Hazard
2016 Willian
2017 Eden Hazard
2018 N'Golo Kante
2019 Eden Hazard 


More from chelsea