Chelsea trio make 2018/19 Women’s Champions League Squad of the Year

Our captain Karen Carney, vice-captain Millie Bright and our Player of the Year, Erin Cuthbert, have been named in the Women’s Champions League squad of the season.

The other players honoured with a place in the all-star squad largely come from four times Champions League winners Olympique Lyonnais, with other representatives from Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Paris Saint-Germain and Wolfsburg.

The full squad is:

Sandra Paños (Barcelona)
Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon)

Millie Bright (Chelsea)
Amel Majri (Lyon)
Wendie Renard (Lyon)
Irene Paredes (Paris Saint-Germain)
Lucy Bronze (Lyon)
Griedge M'Bock Bathy (Lyon)

Vicky Losada (Barcelona)
Melanie Leupolz (Bayern München)
Amandine Henry (Lyon)
Dzsenifer Marozsán (Lyon)
Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea)
Ada Hegerberg (Lyon)
Eugénie Le Sommer (Lyon)
Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg)
Karen Carney (Chelsea)


During the Blues’ 2018/19 Champions League campaign, Carney is the only player from Emma Hayes’ squad who started eight out of eight matches.

Cuthbert, who has also been named our Player of the Year and was nominated for PFA Player of the year, made seven appearances and centre-half Bright played six matches in total.

All three players got their names on the scoresheet throughout our European journey. Scottish striker Cuthbert scored on four separate occasions, Bright netted once and Carney converted from the spot.

The Blues missed out on a place in the final, losing 2-3 on aggregate to Lyon. The French giants picked up their fourth successive Champions League title and sixth in total on Saturday when they thumped Barcelona 4-1.

Last season, our playmaker Ji So-Yun and striker Fran Kirby made the all-star squad.

The 18-player squad has been selected by a panel of six UEFA technical observers who are Brent Hills, Jarmo Matikainen, Carolina Morace, Hope Powell, Anna Signeul and Monika Staab.

More from chelsea