The teams: Chelsea v Manchester City

Kepa Arrizabalaga has been passed fit and starts in goal with Eden Hazard set to play as the central striker. 

The Belgian is in a front three with Pedro and Willian with both Gonzalo Higuain and Olivier Giroud on the bench. 

Jorginho returns to midfield in place of Mateo Kovacic and David Luiz is back in defence with Andreas Christensen among the subs. Emerson retains his place at left-back. 

Compared wiith the team that beat us at the Etihad at the start of the month, Man City have Nicolas Otamendi in defence in place of the unavailable John Stones. David Silva plays in place of Ilkay Gundogan.  

Chelsea: Kepa; Azpilicueta (c), Rudiger, David Luiz, Emerson; Kante, Jorginho, Barkley; Pedro, Hazard, Willian.

Subs: Caballero, Christensen, Kovacic, Loftus-Cheek, Hudson-Odoi, Giroud, Higuain.

Manchester City: Ederson; Walker, Otamendi, Laporte, Zinchenko, Fernandinho, D Silva, De Bruyne, B Silva, Aguero, Sterling.

Subs: Muric, Danilo, Kompany, Gundogan, Sane, Mahrez, Foden.

Today's referee is Jon Moss. 


Stats recap

Chelsea are playing our 15th final since Roman Abramovich became owner in 2003.

Chelsea are seeking to win at Wembley for the first time this season having already lost three times, to Manchester City in the Community Shield and twice against Tottenham in the Premier League and Carabao Cup.

Maurizio Sarri could become the second Italian to win the League Cup, after Gianluca Vialli who won the trophy with Chelsea in 1998.

Despite recent success for both clubs, Chelsea and Manchester City square up in a major final for the first time on Sunday afternoon. Both sides have raised this trophy five times before and only Liverpool can lay claim to more.

Liverpool 8
Aston Villa 5
Chelsea 5
Manchester City 5
Manchester United 5
Nottingham Forest 4
Tottenham 4
Leicester 3

Current holders City have dominated this tournament over the past five years, snatching the crown three times to Chelsea’s one. But the Citizens are still behind the Blues – and their Red Devils rivals – on a silverware count since they were acquired by the Abu Dhabi United Group in September 2008.

Chelsea 10
Manchester Utd 8
Manchester City 7
Arsenal 3

More from chelsea