Double dose – Blues stars vying to join unique honour list

Four Chelsea players have the chance on Sunday to join former Blues Fernando Torres and Juan Mata in an exclusive group who have won Europe’s most important club and national team tournaments in the same season.

Having fired Italy through to the Euro 2020 final with the winning penalty in their shoot-out against Spain, Jorginho is set to face an England side which includes his Chelsea team-mates Mason Mount, Reece James and Ben Chilwell.

As all four started in the Blues’ magnificent victory over Manchester City in Porto in May, they are in line to join a distinguished list of nine players who have played for winning teams in the Champions League and European Championship finals in the same calendar year.

Torres and Mata achieved that distinction in 2012 when they helped the Blues lift the Champions League for the first time after our memorable triumph over Bayern Munich before joining Spain for Euro 2012 in Ukraine and Poland.

While both players did not start in the final against Italy, they made their marks after coming on as substitutes in Kiev. Torres replaced future Blue Cesc Fabregas after 75 minutes and netted Spain’s third goal nine minutes later to become the first player to score in two Euro finals after his winner against Germany four years earlier.

Mata then came on for his only appearance at those finals with three minutes left and made the most of his brief cameo as he was set up by Torres shortly afterwards to tap in the final goal in his team’s 4-0 triumph. The goal would prove crucial for Torres as it helped the Chelsea striker win the Golden Boot after adding his assist to the three goals he had scored in the tournament.

There were also European double-winners five years ago as Cristiano Ronaldo and Pepe won Euro 2016 with Portugal after lifting the Champions League with Real Madrid.

Prior to the heroics of Torres and Mata in 2012, you have to go back 24 years to find the previous double-winners from 1988. Playing for PSV Eindhoven under future Chelsea manager Guus Hiddink, Hans van Breukelen, Ronald Koeman, Berry van Aerle and Gerald Vanenburg won the European Cup against Benfica before helping the Netherlands beat the Soviet Union 2-0 in the Euro 1988 final.

The very first player to manage the feat was Luis Suarez who played in Inter Milan’s 3-1 victory over Real Madrid in the 1964 European Cup final before returning to Spain and helping his country beat the Soviet Union 2-1 in the European Championship final.

Left-back Emerson could also play for Italy in the Euro 2020 final but he won’t be able to join the list as he did not play in the Champions League final.

It would be a similar case to another ex-Blue Nicolas Anelka who played for Real Madrid in the 2000 Champions League final but did not come off the bench for France when they won the European Championship that year.

More from chelsea