Chelsea heavily represented in Ballon d'Or shortlist

Jorginho, N’Golo Kante, Mason Mount, Cesar Azpilicueta and Romelu Lukaku have all been named in the 30-player Ballon d’Or shortlist, while there are five players – Fran Kirby, Pernille Harder, Sam Kerr, Magda Eriksson and Jessie Fleming – nominated for the 20-strong Women’s award.

No other club has more players nominated for either of those two awards. Edouard Mendy is also part of the 10-man strong shortlist for the Yachin Trophy, which is specifically for goalkeepers.

The winners will be announced in Paris on 29 November, with former striker Didier Drogba set to be one of the award hosts.

Central midfield pair Jorginho and N’Golo Kante both played important roles in our success under our head coach Thomas Tuchel, with our number five also key in Italy winning the Euro 2020 crown.

Our midfield maestro would be the first Italian to win the prestigious award since Fabio Cannavaro won it in 2006, while playing for Real Madrid, should Jorginho scoop the coveted prize.

N’Golo Kante has received his third nomination since arriving at Chelsea in 2016. The Frenchman finished in eighth place in 2017 after our title-winning season, and also ranked in 11th place the following season.

N’Golo was named the UEFA Man of the Match when we prevailed against Manchester City on that special Porto night in May and has been a mainstay in the team since his arrival at Stamford Bridge.

Mason Mount is deservedly nominated for the first time in his fledging career, further adding to the strong Chelsea showing.

The midfielder has had a sensational year, playing a key role as Chelsea won the Champions League and also featuring heavily for England at Euro 2020, missing out on a double trophy-lifting summer by the narrowest of margins as Italy defeated the Three Lions on penalties in the final.

Mount only missed two games in the Premier League for the Blues last season and is a key component of our offensive play under Tuchel.

Also nominated is Cesar Azpilicueta, with the captain’s impressive and consistent performances ensuring he is part of the 30-name shortlist.

The defender, who lifted the Champions League trophy in Porto, is a key part of Tuchel’s backline and has featured at right wing-back and right centre-back for the German. His fine performances also earned him a recall to the Spain squad for Euro 2020.

The final Chelsea representative is Romelu Lukaku. The Belgian helped fire Inter Milan to their first Serie A title in over 10 years after contributing 24 goals.

After reaching the Euro 2020 quarter-finals with Belgium in the summer, Lukaku returned to Chelsea at the start of the season, and has scored four goals in his eight starts so far.

Women’s award

As mentioned at the top of this page, there are five Chelsea players nominated for the Women’s Ballon d’Or from a shortlist of 20 players.

Chelsea forward Fran Kirby has been nominated for the Ballon d’Or Feminin for the second time since its inaugural year in 2018.

Kirby was crucial in our WSL title winning campaign last season, registering 16 goals and 11 assists.

She has started the current season in fine form too, scoring two and assisting four, and is hoping to help fire us towards our fourth WSL title in five years.

Kirby is no stranger to individual awards, after being named Football Writers Association Footballer of the Year award at the end of the 2020/21 season.

Pernille Harder has also made the list after a successful first season at the Blues.

The Danish international, who signed for Chelsea on a three-year contract, has won the Danish Player of the Year on six consecutive occasions, as well as winning the Forward of the Season in 2019/20 Women’s Champions League.

Harder recently scored a spectacular solo goal in our 6-1 victory over Manchester United to continue her fine form at Kingsmeadow.

Chelsea’s top goalscorer from the 2020/21 season has also been nominated. Sam Kerr scored 21 goals in 22 games to win the WSL Golden Boot, making her the first ever player to win it in three different leagues.

The Australian, who has 100 caps for her country, has won five titles since joining the Blues.

After helping Canada win gold at the Summer Olympics, Jessie Fleming makes the shortlist in her second season as a Blue.

The 23-year-old scored from the spot in both the semi-final and final in Tokyo before keeping her cool again in the gold medal match shoot-out against Sweden. At club level, the midfielder played her part in our WSL triumph with 26 appearances in all competitions.

Club captain Magda Eriksson completes the quintet of nominated Blues following a year in which her importance to the side was notable once more.

The Swedish international made 34 appearances, scored two goals and was named in the PFA Women’s Team of the Year after helping us clinch the WSL, Continental League Cup and a place in our first-ever Champions League final.

Yashin Trophy

Goalkeeper Edouard Mendy has been shortlisted for the 2021 Yashin Trophy, with the winner to be announced on November 29 in Paris.

The Blues ‘keeper is only the second ever Chelsea goalkeeper to have been nominated for the award, after Kepa Arrizabalaga was shortlisted in the inaugural edition in 2019.

The Senegalese international was instrumental in our Champions League triumph last season, keeping a crucial clean sheet in the final in Porto.

Mendy has kept 10 clean sheets in 14 Champions League games since joining the club, as well as keeping 19 clean sheets in his 37 Premier League appearances.

The goalkeeper’s exceptional performances last season were not only rewarded by team success and trophies but also individual accolades, as he was awarded the Best Goalkeeper of the 20/21 season by UEFA.

He also equalled the record for most clean sheets in a singular Champions League campaign, when keeping nine in 12 appearances.

The award is named after Soviet international Lev Yashin, who is still the only goalkeeper to ever win the award, back in 1963.

Chelsea at the Ballon d'Or

No one has won the Ballon d'Or award as a Chelsea player, but former Blues Andriy Shevchenko (2004), George Weah (1995) and Ruud Gullit (1987) were all winners while with AC Milan.

Frank Lampard has the best showing by a player while at Chelsea. He finished second in 2005. Drogba was fourth in the 2007 awards. The award was initiated in 1956 when Stanley Matthews was victorious.

This year's winners are set to be announced in Paris on November 29, with former Chelsea striker Drogba to be one of the hosts.

More from chelsea