N’Golo Kante and Jorginho named in EA SPORTS Team of the Year

For the fourth time in the past five years, N'Golo Kante has been named in the EA Sports FIFA Team of the Year, this time alongside midfield partner Jorginho.

Seven Chelsea players were in the initial 80 candidates for the Team of the Year, the equal most of any club, however it is the midfield duo who have made it into the starting XI.

N’Golo Kante’s fourth appearance in the Team of the Year comes thanks to his ever-impressive form in 2021. The Frenchman played a pivotal role as we overpowered both Atletico Madrid and Real Madrid en route to the Champions League final and was voted Man of the Match when we beat Manchester City at the Estadio do Dragao in May.

After finishing third in the 2021 Ballon d’Or, Jorginho has rounded off a brilliant year for both club and country by being named in the EA SPORTS Team of the Year. In September, he won UEFA’s Men’s Midfielder of Year and has been a mainstay in the Blues side since Tuchel arrived, featuring in 53 of the Bavarian’s first 66 matches in charge.

Jorginho of course was a major player for Italy as they won Euro 2020 last summer, and his inclusion with Kante in the EA SPORTS Team comes just days after their inclusion in the 2021 FIFA FIFPro Men’s World 11.

The full EA SPORTS Team of the Year is:

Donnarumma (PSG)
Hakimi (PSG)
Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
Marquinhos (PSG)
Joao Cancelo (Manchester City)
De Bruyne (Manchester City)
N'Golo Kante (Chelsea)
Jorginho (Chelsea)
Mbappe (PSG)
Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
Messi (PSG)

More from chelsea