The EFL and the FA have today announced a number of format changes to be implemented in the 2020/21 Carabao Cup and FA Cup.

Due to the unprecedented challenges facing the fixture calendar as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic and the season starting six weeks later than usual, the Carabao Cup’s two-legged semi-finals will be replaced by a single tie in January 2021.

The competition will kick off the new season with the first four rounds scheduled to take place on consecutive weeks, starting in early September. The majority of Premier League sides will enter in Round Two, with those involved in European competition, including Chelsea, starting in Round Three. That round will be played in the midweek of 22/23 September.

Meanwhile, the FA have announced there will be no replays in the FA Cup during the 2020/21 campaign in order to ease pressure on the football schedule this season. The third round will take place on the weekend of 9/10 January 2021.

2020/21 Carabao Cup dates:

Round Three – 22/23 SeptemberRound Four – 29/30 SeptemberRound Five – 22/23 DecemberSemi-Finals – 5/6 JanuaryFinal – Sunday 28 February

2020/21 FA Cup dates:

Third Round - 9/10 JanuaryFourth Round - 23/24 JanuaryFifth Round - 9/10 FebruaryQuarter-Finals - 20/21 MarchSemi-Finals - 17/18 AprilFinal - Saturday 15 May