Our review of last season’s statistics concludes with a mix of some of the less-reported facts and figures from the campaign…

Chelsea penalties

We start with 2020/21’s penalty stats, in which there is no surprise that Jorginho and Timo Werner feature prominently.

Penalties won 17Werner 8, Abraham 2, Havertz 2, Mount 2, Giroud 1, handball 2 (Abraham shot 1, Pulisic shot 1)

Penalties scored 13Jorginho 8, Werner 3, Giroud 1, Mount 1

Penalties missed 4Jorginho 3 (Liverpool home, saved, Krasnodar away, hit post, Arsenal away, saved), Werner 1 (Luton home, saved)

Penalties conceded 4Gilmour 1, James 1, Jorginho 1, Mendy 1

Penalty concessions 3Mendy 3

Penalties saved 1Mendy 1

Penalty shoot-out goals 4Abraham 1, Azpilicueta 1, Emerson 1, Jorginho 1

Penalty shoot-out misses 1Mount 1

Penalty shoot-out saves 0

Penalty shoot-out concessions 5Mendy 5

Chelsea woodwork

When it came to hitting the post or the crossbar in 2020/21, Werner tops the list, and at Chelsea we went that agonisingly close more often that our collective opponents did.

Woodwork 22Werner 5, Mount 3, Alonso 2, Havertz 2, Zouma 2, Chilwell 1, Giroud 1, Hudson-Odoi 1, James 1, Jorginho 1, Pulisic 1, Ziyech 1, opponent 1 (Llorente, Leeds a)

Opponents’ strikes on woodwork 12Benzema (Real Madrid a), Elneny (Arsenal a), Gazinski (Krasnodar a), S Longstaff (Newcastle a), Maddison (Leicester a), McGinn (Aston Villa h), Neto (Wolves h), Phillips (West Brom h), Roberts (Leeds a), Sterling (Man City h), Vestergaard (Southampton a), Welbeck (Brighton h)

Own goals


Booked 74Kante 8, Azpilicueta 7, Jorginho 7, Kovacic 7, Mount 6, Ziyech 5, Chilwell 4, James 4, Pulisic 4, Christensen 3, Havertz 3, Thiago Silva 3, Werner 3, Zouma 3, Alonso 2, Mendy 2, Arrizabalaga 1, Giroud 1, Rudiger 1Most in one game: Rennes h, Tottenham h, Sevilla a, West Ham a, Aston Villa a 4Fewest: Brighton a, Liverpool h & a, Barnsley League Cup h & FA Cup a, Krasnodar a, Burnley a & h, Sheffield Utd h, a & FA Cup h, Leeds h & a, Newcastle a & h, Rennes a, West Ham h, Morecambe h, Luton h, Everton h, Porto a & h, Crystal Palace a, Man City a, Arsenal h 0