Tino Anjorin and Billy Gilmour became two of the youngest players to make their full Champions League debuts for Chelsea when Frank Lampard named them in our starting line-up for the 1-1 draw with Krasnodar on Tuesday.

At 19 years and 15 days, Anjorin is the sixth-youngest to start a match for the Blues in Europe’s premier club competition while Gilmour is eighth-youngest at 19 years, five months and 27 days.

Our youngest-ever Champions League starter is Josh McEachran, who was 17 years and eight months when he was given the nod by Carlo Ancelotti for our 2-1 home win over MSK Zilina in November 2010.

Gael Kakuta is second after starting at Stamford Bridge against Cypriot side APOEL at 18 years and five months in December 2009 while Callum Hudson-Odoi is third after playing the full 90 minutes in our 1-0 win at Ajax last season at 18 year and 11 months.

The top five is completed by Jeffrey Bruma, who started alongside McEachran against Zilina in 2010 at 19 years and 10 days and Glen Johnson, who was just 10 days shy of his 19th birthday when we met the Slovakian club in the qualifying round in August 1999.

Anjorin and Gilmour are separated by seventh-placed John Mikel Obi, who was only slightly younger than the Scot at 19 years, five months and five days when he played at Levski Sofia in September 2006.

The youngest player to appear for the club in the Champions League is Dominic Solanke who was 17 years, one month and seven days when he replaced Oscar for the final 18 minutes of our 6-0 thumping of Maribor in October 2014.

Of the players in our current squad, Reece James debuted for the Blues in the competition at 19 years and nine months in our 2-1 win at Lille last season, while Kurt Zouma was 19 years and 11 months against Maribor in 2014.

Meanwhile, Mateo Kovacic made his Champions League debut for Dinamo Zagreb against Real Madrid in 2011 at 17 years and four months while Kai Havertz was 17 years and eight months when he stated for Bayer Leverkusen against Atletico Madrid in the last 16 in February 2017.