The Chelsea supporters have chosen Conor Gallagher’s brilliant strike against Crystal Palace as the club’s Goal of the Season for 2022/23.

The winner of this season’s award was selected via an online poll from our Goal of the Month winners throughout the campaign, with Conor Gallagher coming out on top of a tight vote. He was handed his trophy for Goal of the Season presented by Cadbury pitchside at Stamford Bridge before today's match, alongside our other end-of-season award winners.

The midfielder takes his place on the illustrious roll of honour for his lovely curling effort against Crystal Palace on 1 October, when he cleverly let the ball roll past a defender before bending a shot into the top corner from outside the box.

It was certainly a memorable moment for the 23-year-old, as he receives the Goal of the Season award for the first goal he scored in a Chelsea shirt, which was netted on just his seventh senior appearance for the club.

Furthermore, it came in the 90th minute at Selhurst Park to complete our comeback for a 2-1 win after going behind in the first half, against the club Gallagher had performed so well for on loan the previous season.

Gallagher took first place in the poll with 16 per cent of the votes, but it was a narrow victory, with less than 150 votes separating the top three. Cesare Casadei’s long-range rocket for our Under-21s in a 4-2 Papa Johns Trophy victory at Peterborough was a close second, just ahead of third-placed Lauren James, whose weaving solo effort against Tottenham ensured our men’s, women’s and Academy teams were all represented on the podium.

Chelsea Goal of the Season roll of honour

2007 - Michael Essien v Arsenal (A)

2016 - Eden Hazard v Tottenham Hotspur (H)

2008 - Juliano Belletti v Tottenham Hotspur (H)

2017 - Eden Hazard v Arsenal (H)

2009 - Michael Essien v Barcelona (H)

2018 - Willian v Brighton & Hove Albion (A)

2010 - Ashley Cole v Sunderland (H)

2019 - Eden Hazard v Liverpool (A)

2011 - Ramires v Manchester City (H)

2020 - Fikayo Tomori v Wolverhampton Wanderers (A)

2012 - Ramires v Barcelona (A)

2021 - Olivier Giroud v Atletico Madrid (A)

2013 - Oscar v Juventus (H)

2022 - Mateo Kovacic v Liverpool (H)

2014 - Lewis Baker v Arsenal Under-21s (A)

2023 - Conor Gallagher v Crystal Palace (A)

2015 - Oscar v Queens Park Rangers (H)