Anita Asante is the latest in our regular feature and the defensive midfielder gives us an insight into her life off the pitch…

Among her answers, Asante tells us who her best friend is in the team, what her go-to karaoke song is and what she can’t live without…

Who or what inspires you the most?

My parents because they only encouraged me and supported me and I think that’s huge because if they didn’t do that I don’t think I’d be where I am in football. The Williams’ sisters [Serena and Venus] have always been up there for me as well because they broke down barriers in tennis and sport.

What can’t you live without?

It’s probably my afro hair cap, not going to lie. I look like a bit of a granny at night time but it has to be done to protect my afro curls!

Other than football, what is your biggest passion?

My biggest passion is trying to create positive change in any way that I can. Whether that’s supporting people who have the resources to do that, getting messages across, or meeting individuals and groups that need to see a visible role model.

What is your biggest achievement?

Probably having the platform that I have now through football to be an ambassador for projects like Amnesty UK and Show Racism the Red Card, because it’s something bigger than myself that can affect more people positively.

Tell us something people don’t know about you…

I’m a little bit of a nerd, but people might know that anyway! I just love documentaries. I like travelling and I’ve played in different countries for a number of different teams. I lived in the US for three years and Sweden for six.

Can you speak any languages?

I can speak Swedish and my parents have another tongue but I’m not fluent in it, I can just understand it. Twi is the language but I never use it.

What are you watching on Netflix?

I literally just finished Pandemic, it’s really fascinating. I like series based on true stories.

What is your go-to karaoke song?

Probably Eye Of The Tiger because it’s the type of song that you get in football in the locker rooms when you win something, and I normally pick a song where people can join in and help me out.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

It has to be near a beach. I’d say somewhere like LA, Santa Monica or Malibu along the coast.

What do you want to do after football?

I am considering doing my coaching badges and going into coaching, but I’d still love to work in football institution and framework as well for like FIFA, representing players from a player perspective. Right now I am a member of the FIFPro global counsel and I really enjoy that side of the game.

Who is your best friend in the team?

I’d say Ramona [Bachmann], I have known her for many years and played with her in Sweden too.

Tea or coffee?

Coffee! I’m a flat white kind of person.

Sweet or savoury?

Definitely sweet. When I lived in Sweden they had these huge sweet shops and it was tradition every Friday night everyone goes in and gets little containers to eat with a movie. It became a thing and people would bring it on the bus to away games.

Do you have any pets?

No, unfortunately, but one now would be perfect!

Read more in this Getting to Know series