In our latest question-and-answer feature with Chelsea Women players, we spoke to midfielder Jessie Fleming who gave us an insight into her life off the pitch…

The Canadian international shares her favourite thing about London, what she likes to do in her spare time and what is on her bucket list!

What do you like to do in your spare time?

Riding my road bike - if the weather holds out! - reading, or photography. I recently started using a film camera but haven't gotten around to processing the film so I am not sure how I am doing!

What do you like the most about London?

Oooooh tough question! I love all of the history there is to discover in the city – the age of some of the buildings is mindblowing! I also love the diversity big cities bring, which usually means lots and lots of good food.

Who was your favourite footballer growing up and why?

When I was really young, I loved Marta. I remember my older brother made me a collage with pictures of Marta and Pele for my birthday one year.

However, watching Iniesta and Barcelona under Pep truly made me fall in love with the game. They played the most beautiful, well thought-out football I think we will ever see – tiki taka all over the pitch and all of the players were incredibly unselfish.

Do you have any pets?

Yes! Two fluffy, friendly golden retrievers named Ruxpin and Moose. They usually sleep in my bed at home when I am away.

If you could eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Hmmm... Maybe Mexican food from California. Tacos, tortilla chips and guacamole or salsa, and sweet corn tamales. At school, my friends and I ate Mexican food almost every Tuesday (for "Taco Tuesday") and it was always my favourite tradition.

What series are you watching at the moment?

I just finished watching The Crown and I am a few episodes into All or Nothing: Tottenham Hotspur.

What is your biggest achievement?

Winning a bronze medal at the Rio Olympics in 2016. I think being a part of the Canadian Olympic Team, meeting and cheering on Canadian athletes from other sports, and representing my country was an incredible experience.

I would like to think most Canadians are extremely proud of where they come from (I know I am) and representing that pride as a Canadian athlete is a great honour.

What are you studying at the moment?

I am majoring in Materials Engineering with a minor in Environmental Science.

What can’t you live without?

Probably coffee. Waking up in the morning, not in any rush and drinking my coffee is the best start to my day. Even better if it is cold outside and I have my warm coffee. I also love the ritual of sitting down with someone to enjoy a coffee and talk.

Sweet or savoury?

I definitely have a bit of a sweet tooth – how can you not love a good doughnut or cinnamon roll?

If you could meet a famous person for a coffee, who would it be?

Probably Barack Obama. He is such a thoughtful, well-spoken person. I think I could listen to him tell stories for hours.

Are you good at any other sports?

Ice-hockey and long distance running. My dad used to build an ice rink in our backyard every year when I was growing up – we would have our friends over and pretend to be the Leafs or Chicago Blackhawks.

Who is your favourite music artist?

I like a lot of different music. Right now I would have to say my favourite artists are Dermot Kennedy or Shakey Graves but I also love Florida Georgia Line and other country artists.

Do you have any superstitions?

Not really.Do you have any fears?

I am not the best with heights. I think I get it from my mom. Don't get me wrong, I love the mountains, I just have no idea how people sit on the edge of a cliff for a picture or rock climb.

Tell us one thing that is on your bucket list…

My parents always said they wanted to rent an RV and take a road trip to the east coast of Canada, camping and hiking at different spots along the way. Now that I have been away from home and my family for so many years, I think I want to explore more of the country I am from with my family.