In our look at the latest Chelsea-related news stories from the media, Tammy Abraham is reported to be line for a new Chelsea contract, the Blues’ disallowed goal at Norwich is explained by a former Premier League referee and former Chelsea defender Filipe Luis reveals he turned down a possible return to England in order to join Flamengo.
These stories are samples pulled from external media sources. They do not represent the views or position of Chelsea Football Club.
Abraham could sign new Chelsea contract
The Telegraph reports Tammy Abraham is in line to earn a new Chelsea contract.
The 20-year-old striker signed a five-year contract with the Blues in 2017 but having scored his first Chelsea goals in the 3-2 victory at Norwich City last Saturday, could join the likes of Mason Mount and Ruben Loftus-Cheek who recently extended their deals with the Blues.
‘Chelsea were already planning to open negotiations over a new deal with Abraham before his brace and the 21-year-old’s goals will have only strengthened the club’s desire to secure his long-term future,’ stated the Telegraph.
‘Abraham still has three years to run on the contract he signed before going on loan to Swansea City in the summer of 2017.
‘Since then, he scored 26 goals on loan at Aston Villa to fire the Midlands club to promotion from the Championship and has taken Chelsea No9 shirt this term.
‘Chelsea will most likely add a further two years to Abraham’s contract, to take his commitment to the club up to five years.
‘There is, however, no rush to clinch an agreement as Abraham has made it clear that he is fulfilling his boyhood dream by finally being given a first-team chance.’
Former ref explains disallowed goal
Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has explained in Sky Sports’ Ref Watch the reasoning behind the decision to disallow Kurt Zouma’s goal in Chelsea’s 3-2 win at Norwich on Saturday.
The Frenchman appeared to have given the Blues a 4-2 lead when he bundled the ball home from close range in the 78th minute but after consulting VAR, referee Martin Atkinson decided not to allow what would have been Zouma’s first Chelsea goal since November 2015.
According to Gallagher, the decision came down to an aerial challenge by Olivier Giroud on Tim Krul which had knocked the ball from the Norwich goalkeeper’s hands before Zouma turned it in from close range.
‘It is the first subjective decision overturned by VAR,’ said Gallagher. ‘It's when the goalkeeper has control of the ball, it doesn't say two hands or one hand and if he puts the ball on the ground and puts his hand on top of it, he's still in control of the ball.
‘But I don't think there's any doubt that when Krul catches that ball, he is in control of it and Giroud jumps into him, knocks his arm and he loses the ball, from which Zouma scores. It is quite rightly disallowed for me.’
Filipe Luis turned down chance to join Man City
According to the Daily Mail, former Chelsea full-back Filipe Luis turned down the chance to return to the Premier League with Manchester City before he decided to head to Brazil this summer.
The 34-year-old, who won the Premier League with the Blues in 2014/15 before he returned to Atletico Madrid the following season, told Globo Esporte about City’s interest in signing him earlier this year.
‘From January until March I had an offer from Manchester City, but it didn’t work out,’ explained the Brazilian who attracted plenty of interest before he decided to sign for Brazilian giants Flamengo.
‘There was a call from Juninho Pernambucano to go to Lyon, but I said I could only give an answer after the Copa America and they ended up signing someone else.
‘There was Turkey, China, a number of countries that called, but none of them felt right in my heart at the time.’